State of Tennessee offers online gun carry permit course

0
136

As of Jan. 1, 2020, Tennesseans are able to get their Tennessee Concealed Handgun Carry Permit online because of the Senate Bill 705.
The bill “redesignates the existing handgun carry permit as an enhanced handgun carry permit.”
The online instruction course is 90 minutes long, not including the final exam and has a $39 fee.
The alternative and former method of acquiring a carry permit was to enroll in an 8-hour course.
The Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit taught trainees everything necessary to have possession of a gun. Within the course, students first are taught information in regards to owning a gun such as gun safety, gun laws and how to clean a gun all in a classroom for a total of 5 hours. Then, one is given on-hand gun firing training.
On one side, this change can be seen as a good thing for those looking to get a handgun permit as it gives them a more convenient option of obtaining one. In comparison to the other option, the online course offers convenience as one can do the course in their own free time from the comfort of their home for a shorter amount of time. All they would have to do is pay the $39 fee.
On the other hand, this can be seen as controversial by citizens due to the online course not requiring the individual to participate in hands-on firing training and the course not being long enough.
The Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit will still be an option.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here