TheCO awards Chester County High School with Coding School of the Year

Pictured are TheCo award winners Matthew Mutter, Reese Young, Mrs. Adele Ellington, Madison Granger, Nathaniel Anderson and Jeffery Smith.

TheCO, a West Tennessee-based community of entrepreneurs, creatives and web developers, awarded Chester County High School as the 2020-2021 Dev Catalyst Champion School due to their participation and performance in the Dev Catalyst program.
CCHS students Madison Granger and Nathaniel Anderson were awarded with 13-inch Macbook Pros for earning the highest honors in the Dev Catalyst Program. They are known as Dev Catalyst Code Champions.
CCHS students Jeffery Smith, Kiley Chilcutt, Matthew Mutter and Reese Young were recognized Dev Catalyst Code leaders by completing the Dev Catalyst Program and placing among the finalists.
This year’s program included 18 schools throughout Tennessee, with over 600 students participating in Novice Web Development, Data Development, and Hardware Dev Project categories.
In its eighth year, the Dev Catalyst program provides students access to high quality, industry-relevant tech education. Students access various online learning platforms, code editors and more. Dev Catalyst teachers are supported through Educator Workshops, classroom resources, and tech video content to use throughout the program.
Recognizing the importance for designers and developers in our ever changing workforce, Dev Catalyst was created to spark students interest in technology-related fields and provide the high demand, high wage career skills to students throughout the region.
The Dev Catalyst program began in 2013 after CO:Founders Ben Ferguson and William Donnell brought the idea to the Jackson-Madison County School District and the Jackson Chamber.