• Home
  • >
  • Community News
  • >
  • Chester County breaks voting record: Over 70 percent voter participation

Chester County breaks voting record: Over 70 percent voter participation

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Chester County at the end of early voting set records after 50.11 percent of registered voters cast their ballots for the 2020 Presidential Election. The county continued to break local voting records election day.
At the end of the day, there was a total of 7,629 voters who cast their ballot in person or by mail putting the voting participation percentage at 70.5 percent.
The last time the record was broke was during the 2016 Presidential Election in which 6,407 votes were cast, about 60 percent of the registered voters.
The following is the unofficial 2020 Presidential Election results.
Chester County’s Presidential voting results – 5,951 votes for Donald Trump/Michael Pence (REP); 1,411 votes for Joseph Biden/ Kamala Harris (DEM); 86 votes for Jo Jorgenson/ Jeremy Cohen (IND); 71 votes for Kanye West/ Michelle Tidball (IND);  23 votes for Don Blankenship/ William Mohr (IND); 15 votes for Alyson Kennedy/ Malcom Jerret (IND); eight votes for Roque De La Fuente/ Darcy Richar (IND); seven votes for Howie Hawkins/ Angela Walker (IND); six votes for Gloria La Riva/ Sunil Freeman (IND) and 28 write-ins for a total of 7,606.
Chester County’s United States Senate voting results – 5,949 votes for Bill Hagerty (REP); 1,304 votes for Marquita Bradshaw (DEM); 37 votes for Aaron James (IND); 28 votes for Kacey Morgan (IND); 27 votes for Elizabeth McLeod (IND); 21 votes for Steven J. Hooper (IND): 15 votes for Eric William Stansberry (IND); 14 votes for Ronnie Henley (IND); eight votes for Yomi “Fapas” Faparusi Sr. (IND); 7 votes for G. Dean Hill (IND); five votes for Jeffrey Alan Grunau (IND) and six write-ins for a total of 7,421.
 Chester County’s United States House of Representatives District 7 results – 5,506 votes for Mark Green; 1,240 votes for Kiran Sreepada (DEM); 85 for Ronald Brown (IND); 39 for Scott Anthony Vieira Jr. (IND) and five write-ins for a total of 7,275 votes.
Chester County’s Tennessee Senate District 26 results – 6,152 votes for Page Walley (REP); 1,236 votes for Civil Miller-Watkins (DEM) and eight write-ins for a total of 7,396 votes.
Chester County’s Tennessee House of Representatives District 72 results – 6,639 votes for Kirk Haston (REP) and 129 write-ins for a total of 6,768 votes.
In Chester County there are 52 provisional ballots that will be determined by the provisional counting board.
Unofficial election results for Tennessee are available at elections.tn.gov.
Counties must submit certified election results to the Division of Elections by Monday, Nov. 23.
Tennessee also had record numbers as over 68 percent of active and inactive registered voters, cast ballots in-person during early voting and on Election Day or absentee by-mail in the Nov. 3 presidential election. That is 3,045,401 Tennesseans.
The previous record was set during the 2008 presidential election when 2,618,238 cast their ballots.
“We would not have seen the record numbers of voters have such a smooth voting experience during a pandemic without the months and countless hours of planning by Tennessee’s 95 election commissions, administrators, and staff,” said Coordinator of Elections Mark Goins. “Thanks to the roughly 17,000 poll officials who stepped up to serve their communities and carry out all the planning to provide Tennesseans with a safe and secure in-person voting experience.”
Tennessee also broke the early and absentee by-mail turnout record during the two-week early voting period in this election. A comprehensive report of in-person and absentee by-mail turnout during early voting by county with comparisons to 2016 and 2012 is available on GoVoteTN.com.
Follow the Secretary of State’s social media channels for ongoing information about Tennessee elections, Twitter: @SecTreHargett, Facebook: Tennessee Secretary of State and Instagram: @tnsecofstate.
For more information about the Nov. 3 election, go to GoVoteTN.com or call the Division of Elections toll-free at 1-877-850-4959.

Related Posts

The Chester County Independent is a weekly newspaper, published on Thursdays, serving Chester County, Tennessee.

© Copyright 2023 

chestercountyindependent.com, 218 S Church Ave Henderson, TN