• Home
  • >
  • Lifestyle
  • >
  • State Senator Page Walley named co-chair of joint study committee on juvenile justice

State Senator Page Walley named co-chair of joint study committee on juvenile justice

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

State Senator Page Walley (R-Bolivar) was recently appointed by Lt. Governor Randy McNally to lead the Joint Ad Hoc Committee on Juvenile Justice as Co-Chair. The Committee will examine all aspects of juvenile detention and probation in the state of Tennessee.
“I am honored to have the opportunity to lead this committee as we take a deep dive into Tennessee’s juvenile justice system,” said Walley. “We will address the many concerns that have recently come to light about Wilder Youth Development Center and similar centers across the state and identify thoughtful solutions to improve the system as a whole.”
The Committee is tasked with examining the exhaustive study released in April 2022 of the state’s Wilder Youth Development Center in Somerville as well as all private youth facilities contracting with the state. Members of the committee will put a special emphasis on studying juvenile sentencing criteria as well as any programming available to juvenile offenders after release.
“I appreciate Lt. Governor McNally and House Speaker Cameron Sexton for forming this committee and I look forward to studying these issues with my colleagues,” added Walley. “I am confident we will be able to provide actionable recommendations towards improving care and rehabilitation for juvenile offenders.”
“Senator Walley’s experience with juvenile justice issues is well-known and well-established,” Said Lt. Governor Randy McNally. “I have great confidence in his abilities and look forward to this committee’s work on a critical issue facing this state.”
Senator Walley has experience leading committees on related topics. In Walley’s work as a legislator in the 1990s, he chaired the House Ad Hoc Committee on Child Welfare/Foster Care System Reform committee.
Other Senate members of the committee are Senator Raumesh Akbari (D-Memphis) and Senator Ed Jackson (R-Jackson). House members appointed to the committee are: C0-Chair, Representative Mary Littleton (R-Dickson), Representative Lowell Russell (R-Vonore), Representative Ron Gant(R-Piperton), Representative Andrew Farmer (R-Sevierville) and Representative Johnny Shaw (D-Bolivar).
The Committee will make recommendations and submit a report with its finding.

Related Posts

The Chester County Independent is a weekly newspaper, published on Thursdays, serving Chester County, Tennessee.

© Copyright 2023 

chestercountyindependent.com, 218 S Church Ave Henderson, TN