Bobby King, Beverly Morton reelected to office in Chester County

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

This year’s election was a big one for the Henderson/Chester County community.
Henderson Mayor Bobby King was reelected into office after winning the election against Donna Butler, 590 – 508.
He and his wife Teresa King are happy that he can continue being mayor and serving the city of Henderson.
“I really appreciate the city of voting to give me opportunity to continue to serve as their mayor,” Mayor King said. “We have several things going on in the next four years with the hotel coming and economic development on 45, and I’m just happy to be able to be a part of that. After we get through Covid, I think you’ll see a lot of positive things going on with these special economic developments in our community.”
Mayor King now has the opportunity to serve as President of the Tennessee Municipal League in 2022. If he gets the president position, he will be the first Southwest Tennessee mayor to ever serve as president outside of Jackson and Memphis.
Beverly Morton won the Chester County Assessor of Property position by a huge margin. With 2429 votes, she beat Darryl Thompson – 778, Broderick Eugene Beecham – 89 and Irene Rinks – 81.
Jason Rhodes will join the Henderson City Aldermen after gaining a seat on the board since Alderman Johny Farris did not run for reelection.
Incumbents Buel “Snookum” Maness and Michael Phelps were able to retain their positions on the board. Voting went as follows: Michael Phelps – 588, Buel Snookum Maness – 571, Jason Rhodes – 533, Tommy Davis – 356, Sharon Cooper – 353, Todd L. Davis – 222, James Mike Alexander – 200 and Dennis Clay Brown 131.
The election resulted in some turnover on the Chester County Board of Education after board member Dwight Bingham lost to Jeff Harris 403 – 372 and board member Ronald Johnson lost to Becky Hutcherson 245 – 183. Also running against Johnson and Hutcherson was Todd Davis with 125 votes. The District 3 seat held by Bob Moore who did not run for re-election was won by Ben Cupples who defeated Amanda L. Hearn, 345 – 252.
CC Board member for District 1, Mark Griffin kept his position with no competition. With no one running against her, Melinda Johnston will continue being the Mayor of Enville.
Nick Weatherington, Shane Johnston and Wanda Kaye Ritter filled three of the five open Enville Aldermen seats.

Related Posts

The Chester County Independent is a weekly newspaper, published on Thursdays, serving Chester County, Tennessee.

© Copyright 2022, 218 S Church Ave Henderson, TN