• Home
  • >
  • Education
  • >
  • Dr. Ronald Johnson Memorial Scholarship awarded to three Chester County graduates

Dr. Ronald Johnson Memorial Scholarship awarded to three Chester County graduates

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Chester County Class of 2023 graduates Auburn Ward, Emma Grace Miller and Haley Reed were presented with the Chester County Retired Teachers Dr. Ronald Johnson Memorial Scholarship last Wednesday by Dr. Rowlett of the Chester County Retired Teachers. See page 5-A for the minutes from the meeting.

Meeting Minutes

The June meeting of the Chester Co. Retired Teachers met Wednesday, June 21, at Snookum’s Restaurant. The meeting was called to order by President Martha Lewis. People’s Bank was thanked for sponsoring our meal. Bank representatives, Kelly Davis and Shannon Austin, thanked the group for their contributions to Chester Co. schools and the community. The prayer was given by Wayne Roberts.
After a delicious lunch, visitors and guests were welcomed. The Pledge was led by Nancy Lofton, and the Thought for the Day was given by Dr. Bruce Lewis. Minutes and Treasurer’s report from the March meeting was given by Jean Smith. They were both approved as read.
Scholarship Chairman, Jane Rowlett, announced the recipients of the Dr. Ronald Johnson Memorial Scholarships: Auburn Ward, Haley Reed and Emma Grace Miller. The ladies relayed their college plans and thanked the group for their support.
President Lewis reminded the group that annual dues were payable.
Mike Barker with TCRS gave an informative update on the beginning of TCRS and how financially sound it is. As of July 1, we will receive a 3% raise, based upon last year’s retirement amounts. Mr. Barker gave interesting results from a survey conducted last year concerning teacher’s backgrounds as compared to our parents’ generation.
President Lewis introduced Anita Smith Hart and her husband Page, the daughter and son-in-law of long time CCRTA member Mrs. June Smith. Mrs. Smith passed away in the spring. Mrs. Kay Ivy gave a very personal memorial about Mrs. June. She also read sweet memories written by Mrs. Jean Marilyn Hogan. Mrs. June and Mrs. Hogan were co-workers and longtime close friends.
The Service Project this month was donations to the Imagination Library.
Jean Smith presented the recommendation for monetary donations to CCRTS scholarship as our September Service Project. A motion on this was made and passed.
New members: Delona Cole and Debbie Jones were introduced.
President Lewis led the group in the “Guess Who” game.
Door prizes were given and the meeting was adjourned.
The meeting was adjourned until Wednesday, September 20.

Related Posts

The Chester County Independent is a weekly newspaper, published on Thursdays, serving Chester County, Tennessee.

© Copyright 2024 

chestercountyindependent.com, 218 S Church Ave Henderson, TN