Senate majority caucus elects leadership

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Lt. Governor McNally, Senate Majority Leader Jack Johnson and Republican Caucus Chairman Ken Yager receive unanimous approval for another term.
Tennessee’s Senate Republican Caucus met Tuesday in Nashville where members voted unanimously to renominate Lt. Governor Randy McNally to a fourth term as Speaker and to return Senator Jack Johnson (R-Franklin) and Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) for third terms to their top leadership roles as Majority Leader and Republican Caucus Chairman respectively. Others elected to caucus leadership positions include Senator Ferrell Haile (R-Gallatin) as Treasurer, Senator Dawn White (R-Murfreesboro) as Secretary and Senator Shane Reeves (R-Murfreesboro) as Chaplain and Senator Bill Powers (R-Clarksville) as Vice-Treasurer.
Caucus members also voted to nominate Senator Paul Bailey (R-Sparta) and Senator Steve Southerland (R-Morristown) to serve on the Joint Fiscal Review Committee. The committee conducts a continuing review of the financial operations of state government. The nominees will be confirmed by a resolution of the full Senate when the General Assembly convenes.
The meeting was held as lawmakers prepare to open the first session of the 113th General Assembly on January 10. Senate Republicans hold a 27-6 majority.

Related Posts

The Chester County Independent is a weekly newspaper, published on Thursdays, serving Chester County, Tennessee.

© Copyright 2024, 218 S Church Ave Henderson, TN